Search records

Rushen Parish Memorial Lychgate, Kirk Christ Holy Trinity Church

Period: 1921-04-21

NGR Easting: 220860

NGR Northing: 469281

Description: Inscription reads as follows: "This lychgate / and tablet in the church / were erected / by the parishioners of Rushen / in memory of / the men from this parish / who lost their lives / in the Great War, 1914-1918. / C.H. Leece, R.D. / Vicar. / Also in memory of / the men and women / from this parish / who lost their lives / in the / Second World War / 1939-1945. / J.D. Gelling. M.A. / Vicar."

No names listed.
First World War and Second World War.

The Lychgate has an interior dimension of 2.89m by 2.59m. The walls are of local rubble stone, cemented and rough cast, with an alcove on either side containing oak seat; and on each wall is a marble tablet inscribed. The floor is paved with local stone slabs, and the roof covered with Manx Barrule slates. All the woodwork:, uprights, beams purlins, rafters and gates are made out of Manx-grown oak.

The memorial was unveiled 21 April 1921 by the Lieutenant Governor of the Isle of Man, Sir William Fry, accompanied by Lady Fry and Mr Leigh Goldie-Taubman, H.K. It was dedicated by the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Mann. The clergy and ministers present were the Lord Bishop, Rev Canon Leece , R.D. (Vicar), Rev Wm. R. Cannell (curate) who carried the Pastoral Staff, Rev E. C. Botwood (curate), Rev Robt. Ferguson (a former curate of Rushen), Rev W. J. Hannam (Superintendent Wesleyan minister), Rev J. W. Haswell (Wesleyan) and the Rev John Graham (Superintendent Primitive minister).

The memorial was sponsored by public subscription. Itl was initiated and materialised at the instance of the members of the Parochial Church Council (with the Vicar chairman), who formed themselves into a Memorials Committee, after previous unsuccesful attempts had been made in other directions.

The memorial was designed by Mr T. H, Royston of Douglas. The woodwork was executed by Mr Herbert Moore, joiner and builder, Athol-street, Port St. Mary. The masonry by Mr Joseph Hudgeon, of Gansey-under the supervision of Mr Royston.

The cost of the Tablet and Lychgate, together with the alterations to the entrance of the Churchyard, was approximately £400.

Information provided by the Isle of Man Government Preservation of War Memorials Committee.
Image courtesy of Chris Blyth, Isle of Man Photographic Society.

Find on Map or Report Condition

Site & Monument Type: gate

Category: Isle of Man National Inventory of War Memorials

Site ID number: IOM_NIWM_RUS_00001_1

Comments

Optional, not displayed