Search records

Start of a race at St John's, 1910 TT (Tourist Trophy)

Date(s): 1910

Scope & Content: Machine number 82: D.M. Brown (3.5 HP Humber). Machine number 83: S. Wright (3.5HP Humber). Wearing the straw boater (behind rider 83) is A.V. Ebblewhite, the well-known timekeeper who officiated at motor racing events across Britain at this time for the Auto Cycle Union.

The start of the original Isle of Man Tourist Trophy (TT) St John’s Course was at Tynwald Green, St John’s and went along the Peel Road to Ballacraine, turning left, through Ballig Bridge, Laurel Bank, Glen Helen, Creg Willey’s Hill, Cronk-y-Voddy, Barregarrow to Kirk Michael, where machines again turned left toward Peel, through the Devil’s Elbow, Knocksharry and into Peel and back out to Tynwald, a distance of 15 miles 1430 yards.

From 1911 racing switched to the longer and more arduous Mountain course.

Language: eng

Item name: photograph

Collection: Photographic Archive

Level: ITEM

ID number: PG/0363/34

Subject tags : #TT&MOTORSPORT


Optional, not displayed

Manx National Heritage (MNH) will always put you in control of the information we send you. Read our privacy policy

Archive catalogue